June 17, 2021

Ep. 365 – “My Poetry Is the Beauty You Overlook” with Kim B. Miller (@pwcpoetlaur2020)

Ep. 365 – “My Poetry Is the Beauty You Overlook” with Kim B. Miller (@pwcpoetlaur2020)

“We are grains of sand on God’s beach acting like we are the ocean.” – Kim B. Miller


“We are grains of sand on God’s beach acting like we are the ocean.” – Kim B. Miller

 

Today’s featured author is mom, wife, award-winning spoken word artist, and the first African American Poet Laureate for Prince William County, VA, Kim B. Miller. Kim and I talk about the art of poetry, how to stay authentic as a new spoken word artist, and more!!!

 

Key Thing’s You’ll Learn:

 

Why you may need to change your zip code.

What a Haiku truly is.

What true Rap is.

What helps Kim stay organized.

Kim’s advice for new spoken word artists.

What giving back to the youth taught Kim.

What keeps Kim kreative and how it may also inspire your own creativity

 

Kim’s Site: http://www.kimbmiller.com/

Kim’s Books: https://www.amazon.com/Kim-B-Miller/e/B00E7I7T0U/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

Kim’s Online Store: https://kim-b-miller.myshopify.com/

 

The opening track is titled, "Don't You" from The Solar Mixtape by Asis Galvin. Be sure to capture this beat by clicking this link. https://asisgalvin.bandcamp.com/track/dont-you

 

You May Also Like…

290.5 (Charm City Bonus Episode) – “ICGODNU” with Myke Gregoree AKA MG The Poet (@MGthepoet): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/2905-charm-city-bonus-episode-icgodnu-with-myke-gregoree-aka-mg-the-poet-mgthepoet/

 

184 - "ManTality" with DeWayne Foote (@zodonboys): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/184-mantality-with-dewayne-foote-zodonboys/

 

51 - "How to Turn Your Pain Into a Paycheck" with Crystal Santoria (@PhirstPoet): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/51-how-to-turn-your-pain-into-a-paycheck-with-crystal-santoria-phirstpoet/

 

264 – “Soul Wounds & Sacred Revelations” with Deneen Joyner (@Deneenmj7): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/264-soul-wounds-sacred-revelations-with-deneen-joyner-deneenmj7/

 

Ep. 350 – “Stay on Track Tips” with Dr. Ro (@everythingro): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-350-stay-on-track-tips-with-dr-ro-everythingro/

 

79 - "The Mango Girl" with Dr. Ava Brown (@AvaBrown24): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/79-the-mango-girl-with-dr-ava-brown-avabrown24/ 

 

282 – “What's So Hard About Being You” with Sir Charles Cary (@SirCharlesCary): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/282-whats-so-hard-about-being-you-with-sir-charles-cary-sircharlescary/ 

 

Ep. 342.5 – “The Little Bear in a Boat” with Takelia Hammett: https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-3425-the-little-bear-in-a-boat-with-takelia-hammett/

 

Ep. 316 – “Ubuntu Leadership” with Dr. LaMarr Darnell Shields (@LaMarrDShields): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-316-ubuntu-leadership-with-dr-lamarr-darnell-shields-lamarrdshields/

 

Ep. 293.5 (Host 2 Host Special) – “Foster Care System Survivor to Inspirational Thriver” with Loren Michaels Harris (@LorenListens2U): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-2935-host-2-host-special-foster-care-system-survivor-to-inspirational-thriver-with-loren-michaels-harris-lorenlistens2u/

 

70 - "From Grief to Grind" with Phoenix J Ma'ri: https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/70-from-grief-to-grind-with-phoenix-j-mari/

 

257 – “It’s Time To Fly Away” with Dr. Froswa’ Booker-Drew (@Froswa): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/257-its-time-to-fly-away-with-dr-froswa-booker-drew-froswa/

 

90 - "Words From a Creative Mind" with Myke Gregoree: https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/2905-charm-city-bonus-episode-icgodnu-with-myke-gregoree-aka-mg-the-poet-mgthepoet/

 

13 - "Water in a Broken Glass" with Odessa Rose: https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/13-water-in-a-broken-glass-with-odessa-rose/