Aug. 11, 2019

171 - "Breaking Into My Life" with Michelle Dickinson (@mdickinson13)

171 - "Breaking Into My Life" with Michelle Dickinson (@mdickinson13)

Growing Up with a Bipolar Parent and My Battle to Reclaim Myself


“Mental health is just as important as physical health.” - Michelle Dickinson

 

Today's featured author is fellow inspirational speaker, empathic leader, and difference-maker, Michelle Dickinson. Michelle and I talk about her book, the writing process for it and looking at mental illness from a different lens.

 

Key Takeaways:

It all starts with kids having healthy minds.

The brain is an organ and just like any other body part you get support for.

We have the power to create our future regardless of our past.

Rough beginnings teach you resilience.

Be committed to vividly telling your story when sharing it.

“Speak up. Take care of yourself. Make yourself a priority.”

 

 

Michelle's Site: http://breakingintomylife.com/

 

Michelle's Book: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B079MGLXDR/ref=dbs_a_def_rwt_hsch_vapi_tkin_p1_i0

 

The opening track is titled, "A Beautiful Heroine" by Rukunetsu (AKA Project R). To listen and purchase the full song, click the following link. https://projectr.bandcamp.com/track/a-beautiful-heroine 

 

 

Related Episodes:

 

36 - "Inspirational Hope" with Tiffani Dilworth (@tiffani_dilworth): http://goingnorth.libsyn.com/36-inspirational-hope-with-tiffani-dilworth-tiffani_dilworth 

 

62 - Defying the Verdict with Charita Cole Brown: http://goingnorth.libsyn.com/62-defying-the-verdict-with-charita-cole-brown

 

65 - "Stronger Than My Struggles" with Melony Hill @STMSBmore: http://goingnorth.libsyn.com/65-stronger-than-my-struggles-with-melony-hill-stmsbmore

 

69 - "Finding the Upside of Down" with Lucille Zimmerman (@LucilleZ): http://goingnorth.libsyn.com/69-finding-the-upside-of-down-with-lucille-zimmerman-lucillez

 

75 - "Life Falls Apart, But You Don't Have To" with Julie Potiker (@JuliePotiker): http://goingnorth.libsyn.com/75-life-falls-apart-but-you-dont-have-to-with-julie-potiker-juliepotiker

 

105 - "A Short Path to Change" with Jenny Mannion (@jennymannion): http://goingnorth.libsyn.com/105-a-short-path-to-change-with-jenny-mannion-jennymannion

 

109 - "30 Days to Me" with Lynn Reilly: http://goingnorth.libsyn.com/109-30-days-to-me-with-lynn-reilly

 

116 - "Escaping the Rabbit Hole" with Tracey Maxfield (@maxfield_tracey): http://goingnorth.libsyn.com/116-escaping-the-rabbit-hole-with-tracey-maxfield-maxfield_tracey

 

134 - "The Courage Self-Love Journey" with Erica Glessing (@EricaGlessing): http://goingnorth.libsyn.com/133-the-courage-self-love-journey-with-erica-glessing-ericaglessing 

 

153 - "Everything Is Going to Be Okay" with Dr. Catherine Hayes (@coachchayes): http://goingnorth.libsyn.com/153-everything-is-going-to-be-okay-with-dr-catherine-hayes-coachchayes