March 29, 2022

Ep. 487 – “Black Indian” with Shonda Buchanan (@shondabuchanan)

Ep. 487 – “Black Indian” with Shonda Buchanan (@shondabuchanan)

“Acquiring knowledge is your right.” - Shonda Buchanan


Today’s featured author is educator, culturalist, award-winning poet, literary activist, and world traveler, Shonda Buchanan. Shonda and I have a fun-filled chat about her memoir, “Black Indian”, being a critical thinker, and tons more!!

 

Key Things You’ll Learn:


What inspired Shonda to become a professor.


How she never has writer’s block.


The importance of telling our stories


How learning about her family's past impacted her


Why do you need to check up on people when you think about them.

 

 

Shonda’s Site: http://shondabuchanan.com/


Shonda’s Books: https://www.amazon.com/Shonda-Buchanan/e/B07GD4XN7C?ref_=dbs_p_pbk_r00_abau_000000

 

The opening track is titled, “Greater Purpose (Instrumental)” by Marcus D. To cop the full track, click on the following link. https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/greater-purpose-featuring/id474993682

 

You May Also Like…

 

#Holiday Bonus Ep. – “Read Until You Understand” with Dr. Farah Griffin (@FJasmineG): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/holiday-bonus-ep-read-until-you-understand-with-dr-farah-griffin-fjasmineg/

 

Ep. 430 – “Being Brown in a Black and White World” with Annemarie Shrouder (@ashrouder): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-430-being-brown-in-a-black-and-white-world-with-annemarie-shrouder-ashrouder/

 

264 – “Soul Wounds & Sacred Revelations” with Deneen Joyner (@Deneenmj7): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/264-soul-wounds-sacred-revelations-with-deneen-joyner-deneenmj7/

 

Ep. 350 – “Stay on Track Tips” with Dr. Ro (@everythingro): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-350-stay-on-track-tips-with-dr-ro-everythingro/

 

Ep. 365 – “My Poetry Is the Beauty You Overlook” with Kim B. Miller (@pwcpoetlaur2020): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-365-my-poetry-is-the-beauty-you-overlook-with-kim-b-miller-pwcpoetlaur2020/

 

Ep. 429 – “Too Happy to Be Sad Girl” with Angel Aviles (@2Happy2BSadGirl): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-429-too-happy-to-be-sad-girl-with-angel-aviles-2happy2bsadgirl/

 

Ep. 415 – “Intention” with Dr. Ian Brooks (@DrB_Intention): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-415-intention-with-dr-ian-brooks-drb_intention/

 

98 - "It Takes 10 Years to Be an Overnight Success" with Pamela Hilliard Owens (@YB2C_System): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/98-it-takes-10-years-to-be-an-overnight-success-with-pamela-hilliard-owens-yb2c_system/

 

Ep. 356 – “The Relentless Pursuit of Greatness” with Thomas R. Williams (@MrTRWilliams): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-356-the-relentless-pursuit-of-greatness-with-thomas-r-williams-mrtrwilliams/

 

136 - "Leadership Development" with Kevin Wayne Johnson (@Writing4theLord): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/136-leadership-development-with-kevin-wayne-johnson-writing4thelord/

 

42 - "Courage" with Christie Lindor (@MuseMece): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/42-courage-with-christie-lindor-musemece/

 

257 – “It’s Time To Fly Away” with Dr. Froswa’ Booker-Drew (@Froswa): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/257-its-time-to-fly-away-with-dr-froswa-booker-drew-froswa/

 

Ep. 420 – “The UPside of Failure” with Tiana Sanchez (@likearealboss): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-420-the-upside-of-failure-with-tiana-sanchez-likearealboss/

 

31 - "Power Living" with Pam Reaves (@pamela_reaves): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/31-power-living-with-pam-reaves-pamela_reaves/

 

97 - "Words From Awaki" with Dr. Bernetha George: https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/97-words-from-awaki-with-dr-bernetha-george/

 

221 – “Righteous Leadership” with Dr. Ray Charles (@TheDrRayCharles): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/221-righteous-leadership-with-dr-ray-charles-thedrraycharles/

 

Ep. 316 – “Ubuntu Leadership” with Dr. LaMarr Darnell Shields (@LaMarrDShields): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-316-ubuntu-leadership-with-dr-lamarr-darnell-shields-lamarrdshields/