Oct. 1, 2022

Ep. 569 - "The Other Goddess" With Dr. Joanna Kujawa (@JoannaKAuthor)

Ep. 569 - "The Other Goddess" With Dr. Joanna Kujawa (@JoannaKAuthor)

Trust your own experience. If it is inconsistent with what you've been told, question what you have been told, not your own experience. Discover the truth for yourself.


When you’re a woman brought up in Christian, and especially Catholic values, you’re exposed to two polar archetypes. One, is represented by the Virgin Mary while the other is epitomized by Mary Magdalene, who is vilified by Catholic tradition as a harlot and sinner. So as a woman, the patriarchy forces you to make a hard choice: either be a total Virgin/Mother Mary or be a totally bad girl. Dr. Joanna Kujawa, a spiritual detective, knew early on that there’s something wrong with this narrative. In her book, The Other Goddess, she explores what Mary Magdalene teaches us about sexuality and uncovers the other Goddess archetypes that have been hidden from women for so long. In this conversation with Dom Brightmon, she unpacks some of the concepts she talks about in the book, as well as some interesting and radical views on the intersection of identity, sexuality, and spirituality. She also talks about feminine consciousness, how the world has relegated it to the sidelines, and what benefits we can get by exploring it more. Tune in and be enlightened by wisdom brought to us by someone who has deeply studied its original sources!

 

The opening track is titled, “Harbinger” by Asis Galvin. To listen and purchase the full track, click the following link. https://asisgalvin.bandcamp.com/track/harbinger

 

You May Also Like..

 

Ep. 340 – “A Single Light” with Tosca Lee (@ToscaLee): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-340-a-single-light-with-tosca-lee-toscalee/

 

#LocalAuthor Bonus Ep. – “The Wise Man” with Michele Chynoweth (@AuthorMichele): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/localauthor-bonus-ep-the-wise-man-with-michele-chynoweth-authormichele/

 

Ep. 551 – “Rewilding” with Dr. Kristy Vanacore: https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-551-rewilding-with-dr-kristy-vanacore/

 

Ep. 555 – “Sunflowers Beneath the Snow” with Teri Brown (@TeriMBrown1): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-555-sunflowers-beneath-the-snow-with-teri-brown-terimbrown1/

 

Ep. 410 – “Research Scientist Turned Urban Fantasy Author” with Kristi Charish (@kristicharish): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-410-research-scientist-turned-urban-fantasy-author-with-kristi-charish-kristicharish/

 

Ep. 548 – “Trusting the Currents” with Lynnda Pollio (@lynndapollio): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-548-trusting-the-currents-with-lynnda-pollio-lynndapollio/

 

#GNPYear2 Episode 2 - "Lead An Uncompromised Life" with Lori Spagna (@LoriSpagna): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/gnpyear2-episode-2-lead-an-uncompromised-life-with-lori-spagna-lorispagna/

 

Ep. 296 – “Awakened” with Helen Heinmiller: https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-296-awakened-with-helen-heinmiller-c2h/

 

#GNPYear1 Bonus Episode 3 - "The Truth is Within" with Dee Delaney (@deedelaney01): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/gnpyear1-bonus-episode-3-the-truth-is-within-with-dee-delaney-deedelaney01/

 

Ep. 519 – “Jonas and the Mountain” with Janis Harper (@harperjanis1): https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-519-jonas-and-the-mountain-with-janis-harper-harperjanis1/

 

Ep. 557 – “A Pathway to Insight” with Ann Hince: https://www.goingnorthpodcast.com/ep-557-a-pathway-to-insight-with-ann-hince/